Robinson Huron Treaty Litigation Fund (RHTLF)

Main Purpose:  


21 Lake Huron First Nations (identified below) formed the Robinson Huron Treaty Litigation 

Fund (RHTLF) in 2010 to assist the First Nations to pursue litigation and/or negotiations against 

Canada and Ontario for failing to increase annuities payments since 1874.


The RHTLF was created to undertake and pursue litigation and/or negotiations related to the 

Robinson-Huron Treaty Annuities Claim on behalf of the Settlors of the RHTLF and/or their 

members who receive or are entitled to receive annuities under the Robinson Huron Treaty of

1850, as well as others who receive or are entitled to receive annuities under the said Treaty.



The RHTLF is comprised of 21 Trustees appointed by the First Nations Councils, each is 

mandated to represent their respective First Nations. Two (2) Trustees from each Sub-Region, 

as set out below, are appointed to the Litigation Management Committee (LMC) which guide 

and work with the Legal Team (Nahwegahbow Corbiere), the Chiefs and Trustees. The existing 

members of the LMC are: Mike Restoule, Chief Patsy Corbiere, Ogimaa Duke Peltier, Peter 

Recollet, Chief Dean Sayers and Angus Toulouse.


Manitoulin Island Sub-Region: Aundeck Omni Kaning, M’Chigeeng, Shequindah, 

Sheshegwanining, Whitefish River, Wiikwemikoong Unceded Territory, Zhiibaahaasing.


North Shore Sub Region: Batchewana, Garden River, Mississauga #8, Sagamok, Serpent River, 

Thessalon, Atikameksheng Anishnawbek.


Highway 69 Corridor Sub-Region: Dokis, Henvy Inlet, Magnetewan, Nipissing, Shawanaga, 

Wahnapitae, Wasauksing.